True Storytelling: A Not So Fast Going Without Story

Time for some more storytelling. This is our story, after all.

The day was April 16, 2011. That was the day I started fasting once a week and giving the value of what I didn’t consume to those who have less.

Not So Fast began just a few days after the idea came to me, and I knew it would be a long process of putting this whole beautiful thing together, but I wanted to start right away.

Since that very first day, a few (awesome) things have gone down. A blog or two, some great discussions, a few meetings, some great food, and all of you (wonderful readers and friends -xxx)!

But enough about me.

I am honored today (back to a new recipe tomorrow!) to send you over to Somer’s blog to read her story and to see how easily a simple concept can bring beautiful people together from all over this big, beautiful world.

So head on over to see Somer, she is one amazing woman with one amazing story. Storytelling like this is just too good to miss.

If you’d like to get involved, feel free to drop me a line at shira@wearenotsofast.org.

I’d love to hear from you!

A HUGE thank you to all who so generously donated to our cause this past two weeks, we are honored by your actions and look forward to sharing even more (in less). Our second cooking class kicks off this week, so stay tuned!

Tomorrow I’ll be back with a sweet new recipe! πŸ™‚

Yours in (just a little) Less,

32 Comments

Filed under discipline, Fasting, Food, Going Without, Happiness, Health, Hope, Inspiration, Non-Profit Organization, Not So Fast, Success, Victory

32 responses to “True Storytelling: A Not So Fast Going Without Story

  1. Lovely intro Shira! I’m so pleased to be a part of this. It means the world to me! xx Somer

  2. Where is the love button?
    XXXX

  3. This is awesome; I find you so inspiring Shira! And I finally updated my blogroll – you’re there! xx

  4. LOVED reading her story, and how YOU have influenced her so greatly! You are amazingggg!! Thank you for sharing!

  5. Pingback: Breaking a Fast – Quinoa Minestrone | Vedged Out

  6. Thank you for sharing her story with us. I have started following her as her story is amazing and I have been kicking around the idea of going vegan for some time now. I want to give her recipes a try and go from there.

    • Wonderful shoes – thank you for joining us! πŸ™‚ Somer is wonderful, you will not be led astray! XO

    • Shoes! I hope that you do enjoy some of your recipes, but I’ll have you know we often cook up Shira’s recipes in this house πŸ™‚ Everything she makes is incredible.

      • Oh yes, I have tried some of Shira’s recipes and they are very good! I am glad to have found both you and her out here in the blogging world and I know I will enjoy reading both of your stories and making some of your recipes.

  7. I always thought you two would be great together in a post – and here you are. Nice!

  8. Do you ever look at how much you have achieved in such a short time, S?

    Here’s to you both! Cheers – πŸ™‚

    • Thank you J! It is comments like this that make me feel better on those days when things just feel messy or ‘too much’ (most days)! It’s easy to see all those things that have ‘yet to be done’ instead of what we HAVE done. Thank you for this πŸ™‚ Namaste my dear friend! XO

    • She’s a passionate woman with an incredible mission! Thanks!

  9. You are truly inspiring Shira. To write something inspiring enough to inspire others is simply another thing. Want to take up the challenge but perhaps not yet!

  10. Love your heart, your commitment, this cause!

Leave a comment